Click for Home Page
Michael Penn... Bunker Hill
MP4: Days Since a Lost Time Accident

Hooray! It appears that Michael Penn's latest album will be out in a matter of a couple months. The buzz on it is just starting to stir, as the sketchy rumors of its release/delays die down. I'll keep my eyes and ears open for more info. But in the meantime, thanks to all of you who wrote in with this information! The following are some tidbits of info about the new album, "MP4: Days Since a Lost Time Accident". 

Michael Penn Wraps Up MP4
From CDNOW news

Nov 23, 1999, 10:00 am PT

Michael Penn has sewn up the recording of his fourth album, MP4 (Days Since A Lost Time Accident), and will see it in stores on Feb. 1, 2000 on Epic Records. A few notable guests helped him out, some more obvious than others.

Wife and ex-'Til Tuesday vocalist Aimee Mann sings background vocals on three tracks ("High Time," "Perfect Candidate," and "Trampoline"); ex-Grant Lee Buffalo singer Grant Lee Phillips lends his vocals to two tracks ("Whole Truth," "High Time"); and oddly, younger brother and actor Chris Penn (Reservoir Dogs) sings on a track called "FootDown"; even producer Brendan O'Brien gets in on the action, playing slide guitar and singing background on "Lucky One" and filter piano on "FootDown."

MP4 is the follow-up to 1997's Resigned. Look for Penn to possibly do some dates, maybe with Mann, at the beginning of the new year as well.

Here is the track listing for MP4 (Days Since A Lost Time Accident):

  1. "Lucky One"
  2. "Whole Truth"
  3. "High Time"
  4. "Beautiful"
  5. "FootDown"
  6. "Perfect Candidate"
  7. "Don't Let Me Go"
  8. "Out Of Its Misery"
  9. "Trampoline"
  10. "Bucket Brigade"

Michael Penn Returns with MP4
From Spin

Singer/songwriter/brother of Sean/Michael Penn will release his fourth album MP4 (Days Since A Lost Time Accident) on February 1, 2000, according to sources at his label 57 Records/Epic. The ten track disc includes guest appearances from Grant Lee Phillips (late of Grant Lee Buffalo), Victor Indrizzo (currently drumming in Beck's band), producer Brendan O'Brien (Rage Against the Machine, Korn), and Aimee Mann. In related news, Penn has just been tapped as the producer for the Wallflowers long-awaited follow-up to Bringing Down the Horse. That as yet untitled disc has no firm release date at press time but we'll keep you posted.

| Announcements | Appearances | Discography | FAQ | Links | Multimedia | Miscellaneous |
| Press | Site Info | Transcriptions | Main Menu |